Call Today! 661.584.4282
Serving the Antelope Valley Since 1952

Lancaster DUI Attorney

Experienced Lancaster Criminal Defense Lawyer

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs? If so, you should act quickly and retain the legal representation needed to protect your rights. Having an arrest on your record could be detrimental to your future, and being convicted of a crime could result in serious, life-changing penalties.

Why the Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward?

At the Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward, our Lancaster attorneys are not afraid to pursue the best possible resolution for your case. We aggressively defend our clients’ freedom, rights, and driving privileges when you've been arrested for driving drunk.

Our legal team consists of dedicated advocates who are ready to challenge evidence against you and fight on your behalf in court. We know how to challenge prosecution and help ensure that you do not experience the harsh repercussions of conviction. We are adept at determining whether your rights were infringed upon during a DUI stop, arrest, or booking. In the toughest cases, you can trust our team to give their all to your defense.

What are the Penalties for DUI?

DUI cases can be complex and can carry severe consequences, especially due to victim advocacy groups pushing for harsher penalties for individuals who have been charged with the crime. In addition to the efforts of law enforcement officers to rid the streets of multiple DUI offenders, prosecutors may try to make an example of your case. More often than not, they will do everything in their power to see that accused individuals receive the highest possible charges, including felony DUI, leading to increased penalties. This could mean jail time even for first-time offenders.

Penalties for conviction of DUI in California follow the guidelines listed below:

First Offense

  • Jail sentence from 4 days to 6 months
  • Fine up to $2,600
  • License suspension from 30 days to 10 months
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device (IID)

Second Offense

  • Jail sentence from 10 days to 1 year
  • Fine up to $2,800
  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • Installation of IID

Third Offense

  • Jail sentence from 120 days to 1 year
  • Fine up to $18,000
  • License suspension for up to 3 years
  • Installation of IID

I Was Arrested After Taking a Field Sobriety Test

At our Lancaster DUI law firm, we frequently help clients who state they were only arrested because they failed a field sobriety test (FST). We would like to clear up the confusion surrounding these subjective tests and remind you of your right to refuse taking a field sobriety test without immediate consequence. If an officer tells you to stand on one foot, walk a straight line, or any other curbside examination, you can kindly and politely refuse.

You are permitted this right to refusal because the law knows that field sobriety tests are inherently unreliable. An officer needs to gauge your reaction based on their gut feeling alone, and often in the darkness of night. Being arrested for a DUI after taking such a test is simply unreasonable, and our DUI attorneys can contest such charges.

Can I Refuse a Chemical Test After a DUI Arrest?

Laws and litigation surrounding DUI arrests in California run deep with details and fine print. One of the important facts that you most likely missed, or never even encountered, is that you will face immediate penalties if you refuse to take a chemical test after you have been cuffed for suspicion of DUI. California’s “implied consent” law is behind this harsh and one-sided rule. The implied consent law states that when you operate your vehicle on a public road, you are also agreeing to any chemical testing a law enforcement officer asks of you, should you be pulled over.

The three most common types of chemical tests taken at the police station are:

  1. Blood
  2. Urine analysis
  3. Breath (different than a pocket breathalyzer)

The law goes on to say that refusal allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to suspend your license automatically. As the DMV is not an arm of the criminal justice system but instead a separate administrative identity, your criminal defense attorney cannot challenge their decision to take away your driving privileges. In summary, you could be completely sober, innocent of any DUI crimes, and still lose your license if you refuse a chemical test. For this reason, most DUI attorneys will tell you to take a chemical test since the results can always be challenged later on.

Fight your DUI in Lancaster, CA today!

If you or your loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence, it will be essential to your case to work with a skilled Lancaster DUI lawyer. When you work with the Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward, our seasoned professionals work fast to obtain evidence, analyze the facts, and determine how this information can be used in your favor at trial. As one of the first established law firms in the Antelope Valley area, we have been successfully defending the rights of individuals accused of DUI since 1952. We also provide expungement services for qualifying individuals with DUI convictions on their records.

Contact us today if you wish to speak confidentially with an experienced member of our team!

Call for a Consultation661.584.4282
The Law Office of MSWC Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward
Lancaster Attorney
767 West Lancaster Boulevard
Lancaster, CA 93534
Phone: (661) 584-4282 | Local Phone: (661) 948-5021.
Website:

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual
case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Website: http://www.msww-law.com © 2017 All Rights Reserved.