Call Today! 661.584.4282
Serving the Antelope Valley Since 1952

Felony DUI Charges in California

Lancaster DUI Attorney at Your Service

Although it is true that most driving under the influence (DUI) charges in California are misdemeanors, this is not always the case. DUIs can actually be escalated to a felony, sometimes after only one arrest.

In order for a DUI to be considered a felony violation:

  • You must have three or more DUI convictions active on your record.
  • Your intoxicated driving must have caused someone else to suffer injury or death.

Are you facing felony DUI charges? You are going to want to retain the legal advocacy of a team of Lancaster DUI lawyers with more than 60 years of combined experience. Contact the Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward today.

Penalties for a Felony DUI Conviction

Just a first-time DUI conviction can hit you with over $1,000 in fines and fees to the state, as well as revoke your license for months. For a felony DUI, the sentencing will be far stricter. If you do not take the proper steps to defend your rights and work closely with our criminal defense attorneys, your future stability, your livelihood, your finances, and your reputation could all be at serious risk.

A felony DUI conviction could be paired with any of the following consequences:

  • Four-year to permanent license revocation
  • Upwards of $18,000 in fines
  • 16 to 60 months in state prison
  • Alcohol treatment programs
  • Ignition interlock device installation

California’s DUI Lookback Period

Every state has its own lookback period, or the amount of time a conviction lasts on your record in regards to affecting future convictions. In California, a DUI will be “active” on your criminal record for a full 10 years, regardless if it is a felony or a misdemeanor. You have to be aware that a lookback period can be deceptively longer than 10 years, though, as a conviction collects momentum the more convictions it has behind it.

Consider this example:
You are convicted in 2000 for your first DUI, and again in 2005. You will now have a second-time DUI on your record. In 2011, your first DUI is technically beyond the lookback period but the conviction in 2005 is not reduced and remains your second time DUI. Consequently, if you are arrested once more in 2012, you will be hit with a third time DUI charge despite there only being two DUIs within the last 10 years.

Quality Legal Services are a Phone Call Away – Dial 661.584.4282

Ever since our full-service law firm was established in 1952, our Lancaster DUI attorneys have been working hard to defend the rights of the people in their community in all manners of driving-related violations. Oftentimes, the legal system sees people as numbers and not humans capable of making mistakes, and it assigns penalties that are arguably too harsh. We want to do our part in preventing such needless severity, but it all starts with you reaching out to us. Let’s get started on your case – contact us today.

Call for a Consultation661.584.4282
The Law Office of MSWC Law Offices of Michelizzi, Schwabacher, Ward & Ward
Lancaster Attorney
767 West Lancaster Boulevard
Lancaster, CA 93534
Phone: (661) 584-4282 | Local Phone: (661) 948-5021.
Website:

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual
case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Website: http://www.msww-law.com © 2017 All Rights Reserved.